Minnesota Chapter

 

The Minnesota Chapter of the National Fire Sprinkler Association is dedicated to advancing the fire sprinkler concept throughout the state. The chapter is headed by fire protection veteran and former Minnesota state fire marshal Tom Brace. Tom works closely alongside fire officials, legislators, and the public to promote the widespread acceptance of fire sprinklers. For more information on chapter events, training, and membership benefits, contact Tom Brace at brace@nfsa.org, 651-603-8827 (office) or 651-644-7800 (cell).


State Coordinator, NFSA:
Tom Brace

Cell: 651-603-8827,
Office: 651-644-7800
brace@nfsa.org
President:
Sean Flaherty, Viking Automatic Sprinkler
Phone: 651-558-3232
sean.flaherty@vikingsprinkler.us
Treasurer:
Tom Lucarelli, Viking Automatic Sprinkler
Phone: 651-558-3300
tom.lucarelli@vikingsprinkler.us
Secretary:
Casey Jackson, Ahern Fire Protection
Phone: 651-755-4773
cjackson@ahernfire.com
Ahern Fire Protection
13705 26th Avenue #110
Plymouth, MN 55441
Contact: Casey Jackson
Phone: 651-755-4773
Email: cjackson@ahernfire.com
www.ahernfire.com
Olsen Fire Protection, Inc.
321 Wilson Street NE
Minneapolis, MN 55413
Contact: Kevin Olsen
Phone: 612-331-3111
Fax: 612-331-1161
Email: kevino@olsenfire.com
Brothers Fire Protection
9950 East Highway 10
Elk River, MN 55330
Contact: Steve Ceislukowski
Phone: 1-800-607-2767
Email: steve@brothersfire.com
www.brothersfire.com
Johnson Controls / Grinnell Fire Protection
2605 Fernbrook LN N
Plymouth, MN 55447
Contact: Dan Rasmussen
Phone: (763) 566-7650
Email: daniel.j.rasmussen@jci.com
www.johnsoncontrols.com
Gilbert Mechanical*
4451 West 76th Street
Edina, MN 55435
Contact: Brent Stifter
Phone: 952-835-3810
Fax: 952-835-4765
Email: BStifter@gilbertmech.com
Skyline Fire Protection, Inc.*
10900 73rd Avenue North, Suite 108
Maple Grove, MN 55369
Contact: Bob Kokales
Phone: 763-425-4441
Fax: 763-425-7755
Email: bob@skylinefire.com
www.skylinefire.com
LifeSaver Fire Protection*
7500 Wayzata Blvd.
Golden Valley, MN 55426
Contact: Sean Sabery
Phone: 763-476-9010
Fax: 763-475-9076
Direct: 763-452-2777
Email: sean@lifesaverfire.com
Summit Fire Protection*
575 Minnehaha Ave W.
St. Paul, MN 55103
Contact: Dean Howard
Phone: 651-251-1880
Fax: 651-251-1879
Email: dhoward@SummitCoUs.com
www.summitcous.com
Midwest Fire Protection, Inc.
324 Harding Street NE
Minneapolis, MN 55413
Contact: Jim Kuempel
Phone: 612-331-1411
Fax: 612-331-1412
Email: JimK@midwest-fire-protection.com
www.midwest-fire-protection.com
Viking Automatic Sprinkler Co.*
301 York Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55130
Contact: Sean Flaherty
Phone: 651-755-3906
Fax: 651-558-3310
Email: sean.flaherty@vikingsprinkler.us
www.vikingsprinkler.com
Sprinkler Fitters Local 417
529 County Road E
Shoreview, MN 55126
Business Manager: Trinidad Uribe III
(612) 781-5804
trinidad@local417.com
*This contractor installs residential fire sprinkler systems
Ferguson Fire & Fabrication
3101 49th Avenue N.
Brooklyn Center, MN 55429
Manager: Tod Jaeger
Phone:(612) 378-7999
Email:Tod.jaeger@ferguson.com
LKPB Engineers
1935 W. County Rd B2, Ste 300
Roseville, MN 55113
Email: Lewis.anderson@lkpb.com
Contact: Lewis Anderson P.E.
Phone: 651-288-6108
Pipe Fabricators, Inc.
8580 Valley Forge Lane
Maple Grove, MN 55369
Fax: 952-928-7265
Watts: 866-747-7473
www.pipefabricatorsps.com
Email: maugustson@spscompanies.com
Complete Pipe Fabriction and all loose material related to the Fire Protection Industry.
Contact: Mark Augustson
Phone: 763-488-8100
Potter Roemer Fire Protection Equipment
1350 N Michael Drive Suite B
Woodale, IL 60191
Fax: 262-641-9220
Cell: 262-617-4259
www.potterroemer.com
Contact: Jim Henry
Phone: 262-797-6566
Email: jameshenry@yahoo.com
Reliable Automatic Sprinkler Co., Inc.
2235 Highway 36 West
Roseville, MN 55113
Fax: 651-638-2678
Email: stimm@reliablesprinkler.com
Manufacturer and distributor of Fire Protection Equipment
Contact: Shawn Timm
Phone: 651-239-9018
Restoration Professionals
505 Minnehaha Avenue W
St. Paul, MN 55103
Fax: 651-379-1991
Email: jericksmoen@restpro.com
www.restopro.com
Fire and water damage restoration
Contact: John Ericksmoen
Phone: 651-734-5935
UPONOR INC.
5925 148th St. W.
Apple Valley, MN 55124
Fax: 952-891-2008
http://www.uponor-usa.com: Homeowner Resource
Fire safety systems for homeowners
Contact: Eric Skare, Product Manager
Phone: 952-997-5323
Email: eric.skare@uponor-usa.com
Viking Supply Net
640 Center Ave.
Carol Stream, IL 60188
Email: jwardour@supplynet.com
Fire sprinklers and devices
Contact: Jason Wardour
Phone: 715-323-1736

Facts

  1. Fact:  The Minnesota Department of Commerce states that 60 insurance companies carry homeowners insurance in Minnesota.
  2. Fact:  The first four companies on the list below carry 60% of those policies.

 

Figures

The list below show the insurance company discounts for homes with fire sprinkler systems and any special requirements.

Insurance CompanyDiscount
Percentage
Notes
Allstate Insurance10 – 15%15% with smoke detectors, fire extinguisher and deadbolt locks.
American Family10%Grouped with home and fire security systems.
Farmers Insurance Group10%Depending on other safety features.
State Farm Insurance10 – 14%Depending on other safety features such as smoke alarms and security system.
AAA Minnesota/Iowa3% System must be certified as complete.
Allied InsuranceAbout $50 per yearNo percentage offered.
General Caualty5%Must be certified as complete system.
Hartford Insurance
(NFSA linked as fire safety resource)
13%Full system including attics, attached structures and bathrooms.
8%Partial system excluding areas listed above
Prudential/Liberty Mutual12%With complete safety package.
Links include Home Fire Sprinkler Coalition.
Safeco10 – 15%Depending on other safety devices.
Travelers InsuranceDepends on credit rating and age of home.
West Bend Mutual8%System must be certified as complete.

Mission Statement

“To protect lives and property from fire through the widespread acceptance of the fire sprinkler concept.”

514 Progress Dr, Suite A
Linthicum Heights, MD 21090