South Central Region: Area 8 (AK, LA, OK, TX)

The South Central Region of NFSA includes Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas. According to Forbes Magazine; four of the “Twenty Fastest Growing Cities in America” (in 2014) are located in the South Central Region. These cities are:

Austin (Number 1)
Dallas (Number 4)
Houston (Number 10)
San Antonio (Number 20)




The South Central Regional Manager- Cindy Giedraitis and NFSA Area Director- John Kauffman, work throughout Oklahoma, Arkansas, Texas, and Louisiana to be a resource for the fire sprinkler industry. Cindy Giedraitis works closely with fire officials, legislators, and other community leaders to advance the industry and protect lives and property.

For more information on membership, training, and fire suppression events, please contact Cindy at

South Central Regional Managers
Cindy Giedraitis
South Central Regional Manager
PO Box 10403
College Station, TX 77842

John Kauffman, III
NFSA Area Director & Contractors Council Chair
Kauffman Company
13225 FM 529, Suite A
Houston, TX 77041

The NFSA South Central Region includes Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas. Your NFSA Regional Team includes NFSA Area Director, John Kauffman, NFSA Regional Manager Cindy Giedraitis, NFSA North Texas Chapter Chair David Welcher, Vice Chair John Pecot, Past Chair Ricky Jackson, NFSA North Texas Chapter Secretary Dale Payne, Treasurer Tate Hitzeman and Officers at Large Jon Lopez and Daniel Merritt.



In 1976 John H. Kauffman III started in the fire sprinkler industry working at the same company as his father and uncle. In late 1977 he moved to Houston and has been in the fire sprinkler business here ever since. His background in design, sales and management has been across several companies. He was a founding member of the Texas Fire Sprinkler Contractors Association, served as an instructor at the Texas A&M Fireman’s Training School, been an adviser to the State Fire Marshal, served on the Advisory Board of the Houston Chapter of the AGC, is now currently serving as the South Central Area Board of Directors of the National Fire Sprinkler Association, and works continuously to promote the life safety aspects of fire sprinklers across our community. Email John at



Cindy has served as the South Central Regional Manager for NFSA since November 2012. Cindy promotes Fire Sprinklers – as a partner to the Fire Service — in four of the BIGGEST and BEST States of Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas through area interest trainings, presentations, coalitions and the NFSA North Texas Chapter!

From August 1999 – 2012, Cindy served as the Public Education Officer for College Station Fire Department that serves Texas A&M, the 5th largest University in the U.S. She provided fire safety and injury prevention education for all College Station residents and visitors. Additionally, she created the yearly “College Station Fire Department Citizen Fire Academy”- a learning program for adults who reside or work in College Station and who want to know more about their fire department. Many of the CSFD Academy graduates have grown more committed to the College Station Fire Department, by choosing to serve as Fire Corps volunteers on the Community Action Response Team (C.A.R.T.) and Citizens Fire Academy Alumni Association. Email Cindy at or call 979-324-8934



The NFSA North Texas Chapter begins 2015 with a new Board of Directors! Chapter Online elections resulted in the following new Board of Directors:

Chair – David Welcher, Automatic Sprinkler of Texas

Vice Chair – John Pecot, Simplex Grinnell

Past Chair – Ricky Jackson

Treasurer – Tate Hitzeman, Globe Fire Sprinkler Corporation

Secretary – Dale Payne, Northstar Fire Protection of Texas


Officers at Large:

Jon Lopez, Ferguson Fire & Fabrication

Daniel Merritt, Reliable Automatic Sprinkler Company

South Central Region News


Please welcome the following new members:


  • FPE, Cromwell AE, Brian Gerdwagen
  • Loss Prevention, XCatlin, Brett Goodman
  • Deputy Fire Marshal, Harris County, Yvonne Clark
  • Fire Marshal, City of Prospect, David Rhode
  • Fire Marshal, City of Clute – Michael Waguespack
  • Inspector, Texas State Fire Marshal – Marcus Rogers
  • Fire Inspector, Arlington Fire Dept. – Jacob Peters
  • Technician, TFMC – Roger Ladwig
  • Inspector, Buda Fire Department – Rodney Solis
  • Specialist, Texas Dept. of Licensing & Reg. – Kelly Kelly
  • Engineer, City of Dallas – Nicholas Pippin
  • Inspector, Harris County Fire Marshal – Yvonne Clark
  • Code Enforcer, Hardin County ESD #2 – Kenneth Hunt
  • EMC, City of Nacogdoches – Robert Ford

If you know of an associate that has an interest in the NFSA, please direct them to

Highest High-Rise Teamwork

Rest Assured! Northstar Fire Protection, City of Austin Fire Department and Balfour Beatty Construction Company have teamed up to “build and protect” the new tallest High-Rise Residential building west of the Mississippi River.

Read More

Sprinkler Save at Pearland, Texas Apartment Building

Thank you to Roland Garcia, Assistant Chief, City of Pearland, Texas for sending us this sprinkler save!

Read More

Two Fire Sprinkler Legends, Advocates Retire!

NFSA congratulates Carol McCain, Executive Director & Treasurer of FSCATX and Deputy Fire Chief David Kerr of Plano Fire Department.  Both Carol and David have greatly contributed to fire protection for all Texas Citizens and Visitors.  Both Carol and David are retiring from their current roles but they both will continue to assist fire protection in other ways.

Read More

Mission Statement

“To protect lives and property from fire through the widespread acceptance of the fire sprinkler concept.”

514 Progress Dr, Suite A
Linthicum Heights, MD 21090